Workplace health and safety: An Introduction for those providing nursing care

CPD hours:

In Australia, Work Health and Safety (WH&S) requirements are based on a set of ‘model’ laws designed by Safe Work Australia.

The laws include a WH&S Act, WH&S regulations, and Codes of Practice.

Since 2011, these laws have been implemented by the Commonwealth and most states and territories (except Victoria and Western Australia).

This means that most WH&S legislation is the same across the country. The purpose of WH&S legislation is to protect the health and safety of workers and workplaces.

  • This is the first module in a three-part series on Work Health and Safety. It provides an overview of WH&S principles in Australia.
  • The second module provides a guide to risk management in healthcare settings. It is aligned with Safe Work Australia’s model Code of Practice for How to manage work health and safety risks.
  • The final module focuses on what to do if an accident or injury occurs at work.

All of these modules are designed for all those working in nursing and midwifery, including managers.

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

At the end of this module participants will be able to:

  • Describe how the Work Health and Safety (WH&S) Act protects workers and workplaces.
  • Identify and explain the four types of ‘duty holders’ or key roles involved in WH&S, including:
  • The person conducting a business or undertaking
  • Officers
  • Workers
  • Other persons
  • Describe the responsibilities of each role.
  • Understand what Codes of Practice are and how they are used to guide WH&S practice.

At the end of this module participants will be able to:

  • This is learning objective 1.
  • This is learning objective 2.
  • This is learning objective 3.
  • This is learning objective 4.
  • This is learning objective 5.
  • This is learning objective 6.

Other modules to explore

See all modules

Any screen anytime

Fully responsive and optimised for use no matter what the screen size.

User dashboard

Ready access to all of the important functionalities of the LMS at your fingertips.


All plans, documents and achievements in one single, secure, portal.

Single sign-on

Single sign-on through your website 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.